Well, I’ve only been promising you all this since, like, July, so…. 3 months, right on schedule. This week I will be adding a new doctor to the team, my GI doctor wants me to see a liver doctor as well, to see if that is the culprit, rather than my pancreas. We are hoping for some progress, it has been since the middle of January since I have had a pain free day.

Any more, my biggest problem with everything is that I am stuck at home all of the time. I miss working, and having accomplished something by the end of the day. Something as simple as that sounds like bliss, to me. On the positive side of things, I have had nothing but time to write new material, which I am looking forward to trying out. I haven’t performed for over 2 years, and I’ve got the itch! Not like a STD itch (STD….STI…I don’t know what we are calling it these days, which is a good sign, Right? Either way it’s not that), but you know what I mean.

So, we thought that I was going to have part of my pancreas removed this summer, but the surgeon has said that the widening in the duct is 1.5mm short of where he thinks he could make a difference. So we changed our plan. My GI doctor has asked if I am willing to try a full removal of the pancreas, and a transplant of the Islet Cells, which make insulin, and I have agreed to it. At this point I will do anything to try and improve the situation. Before that, though, I will be heading to Swedish, in Seattle, for a second opinion, and hopefully they will have a better idea.

The full pacreatectomy (complete removal of the pancreas) is a fairly new procedure. There are only 5-6 facilities that can perform this in the United States. Naturally none of those hospitals are in the northwest. The recovery is months long, the first couple of months could be in the hospital. It is a major surgery, with a long wait before I would get to come home. Obviously, this is not the most ideal of situations, but again, I just want to see some progress, this has been going on for 4 years now, and something has got to give.

I truly appreciate all of the prayers, and good thoughts and sweet messages I get from all of you. To the friends that I have seen, which is only a few of you (don’t take offense if I haven’t seen you, it is rare that I get out of the house at the moment), thank you for distracting me from all of this. All of your support has been, and is incredible. I have the greatest friends, family, and fans in the world. Thank you.

